Quartet by Ronald Harwood

Quartet by Ronald Harwood


Basen Artystyczny WOK, Marii Konopnickiej Str. 6
English subtitles


Jean Horton | Olga Bończyk
Cecily Robson | Alicja Węgorzewska
Reginald Paget | Ryszard Minkiewicz
Wilfred Bond | Maciej Miecznikowski

Piano| Aleksander Teliga Jr.


Directing | Grzegorz Chrapkiewicz
Director’s assistant | Jacek Ornafa
Set Designer| Wojciech Stefaniak
Costumes | Natasha Pavluchenko
Lighting Design | Bogumił Palewicz
Selection of archival materials | Jerzy Snakowski

previous arrow
next arrow


Enjoy a great show with English subtitles added!

The premiere of Ronald Harwood’s “Quartet” is behind us. A long-awaited spectacle, that has been postponed three times. It was an unforgettable, pandemic premiere, that could have been finally attended by the audience. Although only with 50% of available seats, we felt a great power with such incredible spectators’ energy and support.

In this spectacle directed by Professor Chrapkiewicz, celebrating this year the 40th anniversary of his artistic work, perform the renowned singers, which distinguishes this staging from the others, since the roles of opera singers are portrayed just by the singers: Olga Bończyk, Alicja Węgorzewska, Ryszard Minkiewicz and Maciej Miecznikowski. The costumes for the show were designed by the world-renowned designer Natasha Pavluchenko.

The Quartet is an absolute blockbuster of theatrical stages, masterfully written by Ronald Horowitz (that is the real name of Ronald Harwood), a playwright born in Cape Town, a Londoner by choice, a graduate of the famous Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts and a winner of the Academy Award (2003) for Best Adapted Screenplay for the film by Roman Polański – The Pianist.

The Quartet obviously refers to the famous fragment of Giuseppe Verdi’s opera Rigoletto, yet above all it is a study of four retired singers, true veterans of the opera stage – a performance in which the inevitable passing time is confronted with the characters’ still alive desire for adventure, and one can even say the hunger for life and its charms. “It’s a story of surviving. Surviving with dignity” – says the author of the Quartet.

At Beecham House, a luxurious retirement home for musicians, each year its residents prepare a gala concert on the occasion of Giuseppe Verdi’s birthday. This time it is a special evening, because due to financial problems, the centre is facing liquidation, so the residents decide to help and save the institution. The singers invite Jean to take part in the gala concert – a great opera diva, an eccentric artist with an extremely difficult character. As if that weren’t enough, she was once married to one of the residents, which causes additional complications. Hilarious scenes smoothly intertwine with reflection on the passing time and vanishing into a shadow line